Lanzarote, weekend

Before anything I want to dedicate this blogpost to my dear friend Claudia who accompanied me with a stoic patience on this photographic journey around Lanzarote, thank you my dear friend for waiting for me and taking photos of me on most adventurous places! I hope this trip has inspired you to many more trips together.

NOTE TO SELF

No big preparations needed for this trip, just bare in mind that the island is basically in Africa and the weather is usually warm/hot, so take light clothing (check the weather forecast and beware if there are calima warnings ahead – The Calima is a hot and oppressive wind and occurs when there is high pressure over The Sahara, which in turn drives a southerly wind towards Lanzarote, bringing Saharan temperatures and sand with it.). An absolute MUST is to take SPF 50 sunscreen or you’ll get burned. And lastly, take a jacket as when the night falls, especially when windy, it gets chilly.

Prior to the trip, book where you’ll be staying, my favourite part of the island is more towards the North, I have a special coup de coeur for the small town called La Santa, but I value more calm and Nature vs busy areas, if you prefer the latter than the South is ideal for you.

Book a car, that’s an absolute must, and make sure to pick an allroad or a jeep if you intent to explore the Nature side of the island, as you might get in some more adventurous paths.

This is a very sportive island, so if you’re into cycling, running, hiking, surfing… come prepared because you’ll have a great time!! Lanzarote is known to be a Mecca for sports.

HOLLY GRAILS ☺️

If you’re into photography and video like me, or if you appreciate architecture and simplicity, then you’ll fall in love with this island, I know I did.

I still have saved in my memory the mesmerising sunsets hiding behind the volcanos, the explosive colours in the sky falling in the ocean… I wish I had been able to capture their beauty to share with you. The first night I drove from La Santa to a restaurant called La Bodega de Santiago (recommendations bellow) and not having planned it at all, I’ve witnessed a stunning sunset view over the Timanfaya road (LZ-67), this was definitely a holy grail on this trip.

My absolute favourite thing about this trip is the island’s Nature, its variety from beach to the mountains in less then 20 minutes is incredible, going from idyllic sights to out of this world sceneries. You can check some footage on my video at the end of this post and photos on my IG page @tacha.costa.photos.

If you’re into Nature, I recommend to visit: cueva de los suecos (stunning view over Famara beach), cueva de Órzola (with low tide only), Las Grietas (beautiful mountain formations), Caldera de los Cuervos (go for a hike here), La Gueria (the wineries), LZ-67 road (Timanfaya road), Lago Verde (was closed/innacecible when I visited) but the beach next to it is definitely worth the trip Playa de Montana Bermeja, Piscinas Naturales Charcones (access through a rocky road for 15 min), and I didn’t get there on time to visit but everyone recommends the Cueva de los Verdes.

My favourite beaches: Famara beach, Papagayo beach and I didn’t have the time to go but everyone says that in La Graciosa beaches are great (take the ferry there in Órzola)  

Cute towns: Haría, Teguíse

Highlighs: Jameos del Agua (Nature meets architecture) 

HELL NO

Sunburns… it’s scary to see how people are so careless, you’ll see everywhere tourists as red as shrimps because they want to eat all the suntan in one day… be careful, even if you tan easily or you’re used to it, protect yourself.

Beware of the closing times of things, after 16h pretty much everything closes, even restaurants, many only serve lunch.

Arrecife is the ugliest thing you’ll see in Lanzarote, it’s really not worth a visit.

The rudeness of the tourism staff in the south. I understand tourists can be a pain in the arse most times, but they’re also the bread and butter for the island… I got some pretty epic answers from staff, my favourite being at Papagayo beach bar when the waiter told be they’d close at 19:30h before sunset because “this is not Ibiza” to get sunset drinks… HAHAHAH

MYTH BUSTING

I came over for the weekend with high expectations and it surpassed… it’s a beautiful, nature and architecture wise Island, with a sporty easygoing vibe.

RESTAURANT RECOMMENDATIONS 

Wineries (bodegas) are a must as Lanzarote’s wine production is well known and amazing, especially on white wine. I’ve been and liked to Bodega Santiago and Bodega Stratvs. At the beach ate good fish on the terrace at Casa Pedro.

I leave you some other recommendations I’ve got but couldn’t go: Bodega de Urga, Bogavante (ask for table outside), Ikarus (local food), Palacio Ico, El Lago, La Nasa (ask table outside)

Perfect place for lunch and/or drinks Lagomar

Finally, I leave you with a quick video of my favourite highlights, and you can also check my IG page @tacha.costa.photos for photos of the trip.

Leave a comment